Medical Care

Medical care during the asylum process

What do I have to consider?

If you have been living in Germany for less than 15 months


If your asylum process is not yet completed and you have not been in Germany for more than 15 months, you probably don't have an electronic health card. That means that you can't just visit a doctor of your choice, but that you first have to get a "Behandlungsschein" - a treatment certificate. A "Behandlungsschein" is only available if you are acutely ill, suffering from pain, or if you are pregnant. Either your social support in Schönaich, or the medical assistants in the respective doctor's office can ask for a "Behandlungsschein" in the "Sozialamt" (social welfare office). It is therefore good to have the details of your contact at the Sozialamt to be able to show it to the medical assistant or also your social support staff. 

In case of complaints consult a general practitioner first. If necessary he/she can transfer you to a specialist. A transfer and the actual reasons for this transfer, however, have to be examined by the "Landratsamt". This means that you usually get an appointment with the "Gesundheitsamt" (Health office), where you are then examined by an official physician. After that you will be able to get an appointment with a specialist. Of course this will take some time, therefore it is important to submit the transfer to the "Landratsamt" as soon as possible.

If you have been living in Germany for more than 15 months

If you have been living in Germany for more than 15 months you are eligible for an electronic health card that you can apply for at the "Sozialamt". With an electronic health card you can visit a doctor directly. If you want to apply for such a card please contact your social support staff.

If your asylum process has been completed

If your asylum process has already been completed, you must insure yourself with a health insurance of your choice. It is best to go to an office of the health insurance with your ID to fill in an application for membership. After a few weeks you will then be given an electronic health card. 

More information can be found here (Online-guide of the Federal Ministry of Health)
    Back to "Links and Tips" Back to "Health"
    Share by:

Medizinische Versorgung

Medizinische Versorgung während des Asylprozesses

Was muss ich beachten?

Wenn Du weniger als 15 Monate in Deutschland lebst


Wenn das Asylverfahren noch nicht abgeschlossen ist und du dich noch nicht seit 15 Monaten in Deutschland aufhältst, hast Du vermutlich noch keine elektronische Gesundheitskarte. Das bedeutet, dass Du nicht einfach zu einem Arzt deiner Wahl gehen kannst, sondern einen Behandlungsschein benötigst. Diesen Behandlungsschein bekommst Du nur, wenn Du akut krank bist, unter Schmerzen leidest, oder schwanger bist. Entweder deine Sozialbetreuung oder die ArzthelferInnen der jeweiligen Arztpraxis erfragen diesen Schein beim Sozialamt. Dafür ist es gut, den Kontakt der Ansprechperson des Sozialamts bei sich zu haben und zeigen zu können.

Du solltest bei Beschwerden zuerst einen Hausarzt aufsuchen. Dieser kann dann an einen Facharzt überweisen; die Überweisung und der Grund dafür muss jedoch vom Landratsamt geprüft werden. Das bedeutet, dass du normalerweise einen Termin beim Gesundheitsamt bekommst und dort von einem Amtsarzt untersucht wirst. Erst danach kann ein Termin beim Facharzt vereinbart werden. Das alles nimmt einige Zeit in Anspruch, daher solltest du die Überweisung bei Bedarf so schnell wie möglich beim Landratsamt einreichen.


Wenn Du länger als 15 Monate in Deutschland lebst

Solltest du schon länger als 15 Monate in Deutschland leben, kannst du eine elektronische Gesundheitskarte beim Sozialamt beantragen. Damit kannst du direkt zum Arzt gehen. Zu Beantragung kontaktiere bitte deine zuständige Sozialbetreuung.


Wenn Dein Asylverfahren abgeschlossen ist


Wenn dein Asylverfahren bereits abgeschlossen ist, musst du dich bei einer Krankenkasse deiner Wahl versichern. Am besten ist es, wenn du mit deinen Ausweisdokumenten in das Büro der Krankenkasse gehst, und dort den Antrag auf Mitgliedschaft ausfüllst. Nach wenigen Wochen wirst du dann eine elektronische Gesundheitskarte erhalten.


Weitere Informationen findest du auch hier beim Online-Ratgeber des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit.
    Zurück zu "Gesundheit" Zurück zu "Links und Tipps"
    Share by: